It is currently Mon Oct 20, 2014 5:10 pm

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]

Post subject: 20" REPR Optic choice and QD mounts
PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 2:46 pm 
Piston Private Recruit

Hey guys, I am completely new to the LWRC world and new to placing quality glass on an AR platform. Take it easy on a new guy.
I just bought a 20" REPR and need some advice on the glass and QD mounts. I have pretty much made my decision to go with the Nightforce NXS scope. More than likely the 5.5-22. Now my question is to go with the 50mm or 56mm? What are you guys running for QD mounts on your Nightforce setups? Will there be an issue with the 56mm rubbing the rails? I see many are running the Larue QD's but will 56mm work on those mounts?
I plan on using this system for everything (target, long range target, deer hunting etc).
Please provide pics;-)

Post subject: Re: 20" REPR Optic choice and QD mounts
PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 5:27 pm 
I AM Tactical.

A larger objective lens lets in more light and gives you a brighter sight picture in low light. That is why I chose a 3.5-15x56 NF NXS. Some people don't think this is worth the extra weight and bell size. I also use a Tenebraex ARD and the whole thing is mounted in a Larue mount with adequate rail clearance. I cannot remember which Larue mount, but if you use a mount with a lot of built in MOA as your scope gets longer there is a greater chance your bell will contact the rail.

Photos are elsewhere on this forum.

PostPosted: Tue Dec 03, 2013 8:12 pm 
Generalissimo of the Piston Revolution