M6a2 with fortis rail

The M6 Series of Rifles and Carbines.

Moderators: STONEYARDER, van halen, jbour13, notaposer, LWRC-Jarred

M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby Gopherkiller » Sat Mar 04, 2017 10:43 pm

I went out on a whim and ordered the fortis rev 2 14 inch for my m6a2 with square barrel nut and after a few hours of filing and a touch of grinding to the gas block it fits like a dream gun runs good and looks even better than ever! Just thought I would share the good news as I know there are lots of you out there that want to change handguards.
Gopherkiller
Rank 1 Newbie ★
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby shot » Mon Mar 06, 2017 8:55 am

Photo please.
"Getting shot sucks balls." - Mike L. June 2013. (God speed on the recovery)

Evil Preaches Tolerance Until It Is Dominant, Then Seeks to Silence Good
shot
Rank 6 Major ★★★★★★
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Thu Sep 03, 2009 9:18 pm
Location: Behind you, turn around.

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby Gopherkiller » Thu Mar 09, 2017 12:03 am

How do you post a picture I tried but there is a 3 mb limit
Gopherkiller
Rank 1 Newbie ★
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby STONEYARDER » Thu Mar 09, 2017 9:46 am

Click "upload attachment" Then "browse" then double click on your picture, then "add the file" then, "place inline". NOTE, If you have written language in the post, put the cursor where you want the picture to go then click "place inline". If it wont let you upload it ,it may be way to big and needs to be re-sized first.
Whenever tyranny has reigned in history, the people were disarmed first.
“When injustice becomes law, resistance becomes duty.” -Thomas Jefferson
"The US government is at war with the American people" - The Patriot
STONEYARDER
Moderator
 
Posts: 3868
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:48 am
Location: Mn.

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby Gopherkiller » Thu Mar 09, 2017 11:31 pm

Here is a picture of it
20170309_202916.jpg
20170309_202916.jpg (205.51 KiB) Viewed 2440 times
Gopherkiller
Rank 1 Newbie ★
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby Gopherkiller » Fri Mar 10, 2017 5:41 pm

I was a little worried about the barrel nut not fitting but luckily its built to the same spec as a normal one I also read on here and other places that the piston system is bigger than the older legacy system and uses the one piece return spring which is also a little bigger I am pleased to say that the rail sits straight and does not hit the gas block at all like the Samsons do. I just hope people see this and try it themselves because these are great rifles but are heavy with short rails. You will get sore hands from filing!
Gopherkiller
Rank 1 Newbie ★
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby van halen » Sat Mar 11, 2017 7:54 am

Filing what?
I'll just sit here quietly and play with my new rail panels...........
User avatar
van halen
Rank 8 General ★★★★★★★★
 
Posts: 3535
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:17 am
Location: North Carolina

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby Gopherkiller » Sat Mar 11, 2017 11:09 am

The channel on the inside of the rail is to narrow to accommodate the piston assembly and you have to remove enough for it to slide up to the barrel nut and enough for the piston cup to move
Gopherkiller
Rank 1 Newbie ★
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby van halen » Sun Mar 12, 2017 6:32 am

That's what I figured. Did you really grind on the gas block?
I'll just sit here quietly and play with my new rail panels...........
User avatar
van halen
Rank 8 General ★★★★★★★★
 
Posts: 3535
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:17 am
Location: North Carolina

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby STONEYARDER » Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:35 am

van halen wrote:That's what I figured. Did you really grind on the gas block?

Kind of looks like it. :shock:
20170309_202916.jpg
20170309_202916.jpg (206.09 KiB) Viewed 2440 times
Whenever tyranny has reigned in history, the people were disarmed first.
“When injustice becomes law, resistance becomes duty.” -Thomas Jefferson
"The US government is at war with the American people" - The Patriot
STONEYARDER
Moderator
 
Posts: 3868
Joined: Thu Apr 28, 2011 12:48 am
Location: Mn.

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby Gopherkiller » Sun Mar 12, 2017 4:42 pm

Yea I had to take a little bit off of it not very much though a little off the top and each side so it would slide thru the channel of the rail
Gopherkiller
Rank 1 Newbie ★
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:31 pm

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby van halen » Sun Mar 12, 2017 10:47 pm

Yikes, don't think that would cause a problem, but kinda scarey looking.
I'll just sit here quietly and play with my new rail panels...........
User avatar
van halen
Rank 8 General ★★★★★★★★
 
Posts: 3535
Joined: Fri Dec 30, 2011 3:17 am
Location: North Carolina

Re: M6a2 with fortis rail

Postby Gopherkiller » Mon Mar 13, 2017 8:03 am

Yea I got to get some high temp flat black for it and I won't lie I was a little nervous about grinding on it
Gopherkiller
Rank 1 Newbie ★
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2017 7:31 pm



Return to LWRC Products



Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests