How much muzzle flash should there be

Frequently Asked Questions. Use this forum to ask and get answers to your common questions regarding both LWRCI products, or anything firearms related.

Moderators: STONEYARDER, van halen, jbour13, notaposer, LWRC-Jarred

How much muzzle flash should there be

Postby JMike » Sun Feb 16, 2014 3:28 pm

I'm new to the AR-15 and rifles in general...

When I took my new 16" M6 IC enhanced to the range for the first time, about 3 or 4 of the 100 rounds I fired had large muzzle flash. Otherwise, I didn't notice any flash. I was not rapid firing. Is it to be expected that the flash hider doesn't necessarily hide every flash?

I was shooting Federal XM193 5.56 55 gr and Winchester FMJ target 5.56 55 gr. at an indoor range.

My only prior experience with a 20" AR-15 at an outdoor CMP event, so I'm not familiar with how much flash should be expected.

I should also say, the M6IC performed awesomely first time out. No failures. I can't wait to get it back on the range.

Thanks for any inputs on my flash hider performance question.
JMike
Rank 1 Newbie ★

Re: How much muzzle flash should there be

Postby van halen » Sun Feb 16, 2014 6:43 pm

Interesting, which muzzle device are you running?
I'll just sit here quietly and play with my new rail panels...........
van halen
Rank 8 General ★★★★★★★★

Postby ThunderDan19 » Sun Feb 16, 2014 7:19 pm

Yeah, it'll vary by muzzle device (comp vs. hider) and barrel length. My 10.5" with a hider doesn't typically flash as much as my 16" OAL ACR with a compensator. Now my PLR pistol w/ 9" barrel and comp will make a fireball and rattle your teeth (hollywood style) every single time... :mrgreen:
Sic Semper Tyrannis
ThunderDan19
Rank 6 Major ★★★★★★

Postby STONEYARDER » Sun Feb 16, 2014 8:55 pm